49 of 53 Endorsed Candidates Win in General Election

Comments:0 Comments

Education advocacy group pleased with 93% success rate, looking forward to new legislative session

Lansing, MI – The Great Lakes Education Project (GLEP) announced that 49 of 53 candidates endorsed by the education advocacy group were successful in yesterday’s general election for the Michigan House of Representatives. GLEP-endorsed candidates winning yesterday include 25 re-elected incumbents and 24 new legislators.

“We’re pleased that so many of our endorsed candidates were successful yesterday, which proves that Michigan voters support strong advocates for children and school choice in the legislature,” said Gary Naeyaert, GLEP Executive Director.  GLEP-endorsed candidates successful in yesterday’s election include:

  • District #17: Rep-Elect Joe Bellino (Monroe)
  • District #19: Rep. Laura Cox (Livonia)
  • District #20: Rep-Elect Jeff Noble (Plymouth)
  • District #24: Rep-Elect Steve Marino (Harrison Township)
  • District #30: Rep-Elect Diana Farrington (Utica)
  • District #32: Rep-Elect Pamela Hornberger (Chesterfield Township)
  • District #33: Rep-Elect Jeff Yaroch (Richmond)
  • District #38: Rep. Kathy Crawford (Lyon Township)
  • District #39: Rep. Klint Kesto (Commerce Twp)
  • District #42: Rep. Lana Theis (Brighton)
  • District #44: Rep. Jim Runestad (Milford Township)
  • District #45: Rep. Michael Webber (Rochester)
  • District #47: Rep. Hank Vaupel (Howell)
  • District #51: Rep. Joe Graves (Argentine Township)
  • District #56: Rep. Jason Sheppard (Temperance)
  • District #57: Rep-Elect Bronna Kahle (Adrian Township)
  • District #58: Rep. Eric Leutheuser (Hillsdale)
  • District #59: Rep. Aaron Miller (Sturgis)
  • District #61: Rep. Brandt Iden (Oshtemo)
  • District #63: Rep. David Maturen (Brady Township)
  • District #64: Rep-Elect Julie Alexander (Hanover)
  • District #66: Rep-Elect Beth Griffin (South Haven)
  • District #70: Rep-Elect James Lower (Cedar Lake)
  • District #71: Rep. Tom Barrett (Charlotte)
  • District #72: Rep-Elect Steve Johnson (Shelbyville)
  • District #73: Rep. Chris Afendoulis (Grand Rapids Township)
  • District #74: Rep. Rob VerHeulen (Walker)
  • District #79: Rep-Elect Kim LaSata (St. Joseph)
  • District #80: Rep. Mary Whiteford (Casco Township)
  • District #81: Rep. Dan Lauwers (Brockway Township)
  • District #83: Rep-Elect Shane Hernandez (Port Huron)
  • District #86: Rep-Elect Thomas Albert (Belding)
  • District #87: Rep-Elect Julie Calley (Portland)
  • District #89: Rep-Elect Jim Lilly (Park Township)
  • District #90: Rep. Daniela Garcia (Holland)
  • District #91: Rep. Holly Hughes (White River Township)
  • District #93: Rep. Tom Leonard (DeWitt Township)
  • District #94: Rep. Tim Kelly (Saginaw Township)
  • District #97: Rep-Elect Jason Wentworth (Clare)
  • District #98: Rep. Gary Glenn (Midland)
  • District # 99: Rep-Elect Roger Hauck (Union Township)
  • District #100: Rep-Elect Scott VanSingel (Grant)
  • District #101: Rep-Elect Curt VanderWall (Ludington)
  • District #102: Rep-Elect Michele Hoitenga (Manton)
  • District #103: Rep-Elect Daire Rendon (Lake City)
  • District #105: Rep. Triston Cole (Mancelona)
  • District #106: Rep-Elect Sue Allor (Wolverine)
  • District #107: Rep. Lee Chatfield (Levering)
  • District #108: Rep-Elect Beau LaFave (Iron Mountain)

GLEP’s endorsement process includes past voting records, personal interviews and results from our candidate questionnaire. Priority issues for GLEP include school choice and early literacy, while endorsed candidates may hold various positions on K-12 funding, curriculum standards, assessments, etc.

GLEP looks forward to working with the returning and new members of the House of Representatives when they are sworn into office and return to Lansing in January 2017.


Click here to download this release in PDF format.